Feb 14 2020

Countries Using the Euro as Their Currency #the #currency #converter

#euro currency


Euro Countries

By Matt Rosenberg. Geography Expert

On January 1, 1999 one of the largest steps toward European unification took place with the introduction of the euro as the official currency in eleven countries (Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, and Spain).

However, residents of the first European Union countries that adopted the euro didn t begin using euro banknotes and coins until January 1, 2002.

Continue Reading Below

Euro Countries

Today, the euro is one of the world s most powerful currencies, used by more than 320 million Europeans in twenty-four countries. The countries currently using the euro are:

1) Andorra
2) Austria
3) Belgium
4) Cyprus
5) Estonia
6) Finland
7) France
8) Germany
9) Greece
10) Ireland
11) Italy
12) Kosovo
13) Latvia
14) Luxembourg
15) Malta
16) Monaco
17) Montenegro
18) Netherlands
19) Portugal
20) San Marino
21) Slovakia
22) Slovenia
23) Spain
24) Vatican City

Recent and Future Euro Countries

On January 1, 2009, Slovakia started using the euro.

Estonia began using the euro on January 1, 2011. Latvia began using the euro as its currency on January 1, 2014.

Lithuania is expected to join the Eurozone in the next few years and thus become a new country using the euro .

Only 18 of the 27 members of the European Union (EU) are part of the Eurozone, the name for the collection of EU countries that utilize the euro. Notably, the United Kingdom. Denmark, and Sweden have thus far decided not to convert to the euro. Other new EU member countries are working toward becoming part of the Eurozone.

Continue Reading Below

On the other hand, Andorra, Kosovo, Montenegro, Monaco, San Marino, and the Vatican City are not EU members but do officially use the euro as their currencies.

The Euro – €

The symbol for the euro is a rounded E with one or two cross lines – €. You can see a larger image on this page. Euros are divided into eurocents, each eurocent being one one-hundredth of a euro.

Written by admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *